Onkyo USA Product Support
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

TX-NR609 Blu-Ray Settings

2 posters

Go down

TX-NR609 Blu-Ray Settings Empty TX-NR609 Blu-Ray Settings

Post  castarner Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:44 am

I'm a newbie and need some help: which settings should I be using to get the best sound from a Blu-Ray source over HDMI 1.4 cable to a 7.1 surround sound setup? Is this a setting that the receiver will automatically change based on the sound format detected on various BD's, or do I need to manually change this each time? Any and all help would be appreciated, thank you in advance.

castarner

Back to top Go down

TX-NR609 Blu-Ray Settings Empty Re: TX-NR609 Blu-Ray Settings

Post  OnkyoUSA Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:31 pm

Hi castarner,

The receiver will pick up the incoming signal and decode it accordingly. Keep in mind that depending on the signal coming in you may or may not get all the various listening modes.
OnkyoUSA
OnkyoUSA
Admin

https://onkyoproductsupport.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Post  castarner Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:30 pm

Thank you for your quick response.
I have a Blu-Ray player that will decode all of the latest BD formats, so the signal coming in should be able to be decoded automatically as you say. I do have the Tru HD and DTS formats under Listening Preferences set to Straight Decode. Is that correct? Will the receiver indicate on the front panel if it is processing these sound formats?
Once the signal is being recieved and decoded, is it up to me to designate the speaker output settings (THX, etc) or will this happen automatically as well?
If its a setting that I need to manage, what should I use to get the most realistic and accurate sound?
Thanks again for your continued support.

castarner

Back to top Go down

Post  OnkyoUSA Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:39 pm

Hi castarner,